Prof. Dr. Marcel Tanner

Secretary General
Dr. Lukas Meier

About the R. Geigy Foundation Award

Offered since 2000, the R. Geigy Foundation Award is conferred to distinguished scholars in the field of tropical and neglected diseases and/or public health who combined laboratory and field research in novel ways. The awardee presents his/her research to the wider public at a ceremony marking the occasion, held in Basel.


The aim of the award is to commemorate the spirit and the achievements of Rudolf Geigy, the founder of the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (Swiss TPH) who was born in Basel on 20 December 1902.


The value of each prize awarded is CHF 20,000.